Visit Simple Marketing Now!

If you'd like to read our blog content in real time, visit Simple Marketing Now directly and consider subscribing to Content Talks Business.

Friday, October 1, 2010

What Does Engaging Content Mean to You?

CMI: What Does Engaging Content Mean to You?
Are you interested in finding out more about B2B Content Marketing? You're in luck because Junta42 and MarketingProfs have just released research on 2010 B2B Content Marketing Benchmarks, Budgets and Trends. One challenge identified in the report relates to 'producing engaging content.'

To offer guidance to content marketers, Content Marketing Institute has asked its contributors to detail "what does engaging content mean to you?"

The resulting post titled "Want to Develop Engaging Content? First Step: Understand What Engaging Means" captures perspectives from 18 prominent content marketers:

Newt Barrett (@newtbarrett)
Shelly Bowen (@shelbow)
Heidi Cohen (@heidicohen)
David Drickhamer (@leanroi)
Barbra Gago (@barbragago)
Colleen Jones (@leenjones)
Doug Kessler (@dougkessler)
Patsi Krakoff (@Patsiblogsquad)
Wendy Marx (@wendymarx)
Sarah Mitchell (@globalcopywrite)
John Nawn (@perfectmeeting)
Elise Redlin-Cook (@redlincook)
Lisa Petrilli (@LisaPetrilli)
Nate Riggs (@nateriggs)
Stephanie Tilton (@stephanietilton)
Jeremy Victor (@jeremyvictor)
Jennifer Watson (@ContextComm)
CB Whittemore (@cbwhittemore)  --- Me!

The post is definitely worth reading for perspective and inspiration.   

Here's my response:
“Engaging” to me means grabbing a reader’s interest and attention, drawing him/her into reading more – because the content is incredibly relevant, informative even entertaining – and causing him/her to accord value to the content – ideally, enough value to take an action.

‘Engaging’ content has nothing to do with me, and everything to do with my audience. It requires understanding the world that my audience lives in and communicating with language and terms that genuinely resonate with my audience.
What's your take on engaging content? What does it mean to you? I'd love to hear your response.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...